Skip to content

Decluttering Day 4

April 5, 2013
tags:

Wow, it seems like all I find time to talk about is throwing stuff out. Which is funny, because it’s such a very small part of my day today. I started with taking Tom to school, and since it was Friday and nearly the end of Term 1, I agree that he could ride his bike to school for the first time. It was awesome! He did a great job of listening, not getting too far ahead, staying to the left, ringing his bell when passing, etc. And I found out today that he calls the training wheels his “stabilizers.” I love it!

Then I walked home, spent the next 3 hours grocery shopping, then drove out to Fyshwick to pick up the new printer I won in an online auction last night. Ours died about two weeks ago, and I’ve been waiting for the right one to replace it. This one’s a multi-function thing, and Karen thinks it looks a lot better than the old one, so for now, everybody’s happy. If we get six years of use out of it like the last one, I’ll be even happier.

By the time I got it back and hooked up, it was time to head back to school, then all the usual after-school drama and excitement, cheeseburgers for dinner, bedtime stories, then Karen, the older boys, and I watched the two latest episodes of Revolution. We keep trying to like the show, and we’re still sticking with it on the basis of the rumors that they’re going to try to make the second half of the season better than the first. After two episodes, I’m not seeing it.

After the kids went to bed, I decided to do at least a small amount of decluttering. One of the drawers of my little desk organizer. Quick and easy, but good because not only did I get rid of another (although much smaller) pile of papers and miscellaneous junk, but I found a few things that I’ve been hunting for months. Yay!

And as good as it feels to toss stuff out, one of the things I’m appreciating most about this little exercise is thinking about some of the stuff I’m keeping, or trying to keep before eventually convincing myself to let it go. Tonight’s item was “A Guide to Documenting Sources of Information”, a little booklet I bought when I first started my degree at the University of Canberra.

I’ve kept it somewhere on my desk since 2003. I remember using it a lot back then, but not once in the last six or seven years. But I keep it around…just in case. I mean, I still write things that require references, and sometimes I can’t remember exactly how everything goes. But at those moments, I don’t grab my little booklet, I just google it. So tonight the thing is going in the bin, and if it turns out that Google can’t help me find the correct way to cite information obtained from a Gopher server, then I guess I’ll just have to deal with it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

