Skip to content

Booze of the Week: Gin

April 6, 2013

Gin is not a liquor that I’ve got a lot of experience with. My dad would sometimes order a Tom Collins when we went out to dinner at Bennigans. But those were “going out drinks”, too much hassle to make yourself. For a “party drink” the only thing involving gin that I can remember is gin and grapefruit juice. And I never liked grapefruit juice all that much.

But tonight, the Booze of the Week is gin, and I’m trying several different drinks, although they’re all really just variations on a theme. I started with a Gin Rickey. The recipe is simple. A few ice cubes in a rocks glass, a shot of gin, 1/2 a lime squeezed and then dropped into the glass, topped up with soda water. That was WAY too limey. For the second one, I used the same hunk of lime, and it was much better.

The second drink of the night was the classic Gin & Tonic. Again, it’s dead simple. Ice, gin, tonic, and a wedge of lime. And it’s delicious! As far as I can remember, I’ve never drank tonic water before, but I’ve heard and read that it’s a bit weird-tasting, and something of an acquired taste. If so, I’ll consider it acquired. I’m thoroughly enjoying the G&T, and I just tasted the tonic by itself, and it was fine, too.

Next was the Gimlet. Ice, lime juice, lime cordial, shaken and served with a slice of lime. It’s supposed to be served in a cocktail glass, but not surprisingly, we don’t have any. It was okay, but definitely not my favorite drink of the night. I tried a variation, the Richmond Gimlet, which includes mint. The first time I tried it with one mint leaf in the shaker, the second time with three or four. Either way, I didn’t find that it added much to the drink.

gimlet

The fourth drink was a Tom Collins. Sort of. I made my own sugar syrup, and used fresh lemon (plus a little lime) juice with soda instead of using lemonade, Sprite, etc., but I couldn’t garnish it with a Maraschino cherry because I couldn’t find them anywhere. I went to two grocery stores and two liquor stores this morning, and ended up with nothing. I’ve ordered some online, but it’ll probably be a week or so before I get them. The drink is okay, but probably could’ve used less lemon and more soda. Maybe more gin, too. Or maybe the whole thing’s just not right without the cherry.

ginjuice

And the final drink of the night is a Gin and Juice. Not a “classic cocktail” , but not bad. Too sweet, but definitely better than the gin and grapefruit juice I remember (although fair enough, that’s a pretty hazy memory). But my favorite drinks of the night were the Rickey and the G&T. I’m a bit bummed out that I didn’t buy a bottle of vermouth so that I could try a martini.

I had one martini about 25 years ago, and I hated it. But thinking back on it now, I’m pretty sure that it was a vodka martini, without much vermouth and with WAY too much olive oil floating on top. After tonight, I’m thinking that I wouldn’t mind trying one with gin, and with a lemon twist instead of an olive. But that’s going to have to wait. I’m thinking that next week’s Booze of the Week is going to be vodka.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

