Skip to content

Booze of the Week

April 6, 2013
tags:

I like to drink. But I have to admit, my experiences with alcohol don’t have a lot of depth. I’ve sort of fallen into a rut. I drink bourbon when it’s cold, and rum and tequila when it’s warm. Beer all year round, but mostly in the summer. I’ve never been a big wine drinker, although I’ve been drinking a couple of bottles a week over the last few months, and I think I’m finally beginning to see the appeal.

But I decided a few weeks ago that it was time to start drinking more like a grown-up. And what I mean by that is to build up the various ingredients required to have a reasonably well-stocked bar. I’m 44 years old and I’ve never done that before. I’ve always been more of a  “buy a bottle, drink a bottle” kind of guy. But I’m going to work on moving past that.

And as far as the variety of drinks, there hasn’t been a lot of variation. For over two decades, my go-to drinks have been bourbon (or rum) and Coke, daiquiris  and margaritas. Occasionally a screwdriver or a tequila sunrise. In the last few years, sometimes a White Russian or an Old Fashioned.  A few months ago, I tried a Russian Mule (vodka and ginger beer), but it’s rare that I deviate from a very short list of preferred drinks. But I’d like to change that, and try some new drinks, and to slowly build up a bar.

I started last week, with a bottle of bourbon. Not a tough choice at all, and I didn’t even go so far as to buy a new brand. I went with Makers Mark, which I’ve bought occasionally in the past, but wouldn’t consider it a regular. I mostly drank Old Fashioneds, which I’ve only come to appreciate in about the last year, and a couple of bourbon and Cokes. Nothing particularly unusual, but good times were had by all.

bar_apr6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s a start, and I’m planning to add a bottle every week. I’ll start with the basics–vodka, scotch, tequila, rum, etc.–adding in an occasional liqueur or aperitif to add to the variety of drinks I can make. I’ve always been more of a highball guy, but as much as I appreciate the simplicity, I’d like to branch out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

