Skip to content

My Hard Life

April 8, 2013

It’s Monday, which means the kids are back at school (for the last week of Term 1, and then I’ll have them home for two weeks) and Karen is back at work (after being home sick for two weeks, plus she took a week off before that), so it’s the first time I’ve had the place to myself for a while.

I’ve kept myself busy catching up on the news and adding links and descriptions to my Big List of Aussie Blogs (my goal is to finish all the blogs starting with “A” today). For background music, I’ve listened to Billie Holliday, The Civil Wars, Cold Chisel and, thanks to some links from Ana Pedic’s Babbleogue, a little Best Coast and Common Rider.

You might remember a few days ago, in the post about the Frank Fries, that I mentioned my weight-loss plan. This is how that plan was executed for lunch today:

steak-veggies-lunchA steak, some stir-fried veggies, and a glass of red. It was quick, it was filling, and it was tasty. The meat is a scotch fillet (also called a ribeye in other parts of the world), and for the veggies I sliced up an onion, some capsicum (red bell pepper), a bit of celery, some cauliflower, and some frozen spinach. I tossed that in the wok with a mix of olive oil and ghee (clarified butter) for a few minutes, then added some cabbage, carrot, spring onion (also called green onion, scallion, etc.) and whatever else was in this “crunchy salad” mix I bought at the supermarket, and a little minced garlic and minced red chilli.

From the time I put the onion on the cutting board until the first bite was about 12 minutes. I seasoned the steak with a little onion salt, some “Aussie BBQ Seasoning” I bought on sale at Aldi, and some black pepper, and I cooked it in about 3 minutes on our George Foreman grill (it cooks both sides at once).

This is why I say “weight-loss plan” instead of “diet”. Eating like this doesn’t feel like I’m on a diet. Eating like this is awesome. I eat meat. I eat vegetables. I avoid fruit, bread, and sugar. And I’ve lost a little over 15 kilos (33 lbs) since the start of the year.

So yeah, I’ve had 5 hours of uninterrupted time to myself, I’ve gotten about a quarter of the way through the “A” blogs on the list, and I’ve cooked and enjoyed a healthy, delicious lunch. It’s tough to live like this, but I’m sure if I had the opportunity to do it more often, I’d struggle though and manage…somehow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

